Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 12, 2005, 3:14 PM   #1

I ordered an XT through Dell and it is taking way too long to be delivered. The order was delayed 3 times and now I have to wait until June 1, which could also be pushed out further.

Now the biggie, should I just get the 20D? The website says it could ship within 24 hours so I'm thinking about it....

I'm an amateur, but would this purchase make sense? Are the extra bucks worth it?

any help would be much appreciated. thanks!
Chulmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 12, 2005, 3:23 PM   #2
Super Moderator

it depends on whether its worth extra money to YOU...

so basically you are getting a more durable body, a better controls layout, and faster continuous shooting mode.. you are also getting the ability to use ISO 3200, and there are some reports that show the 20d having lower noise at 1600..

so what you have to ask yourself is 1) am i going to need those featurs 2) are they worth 600 bucks (which could be put towards a nice lens)..

g'luck, dustin

Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2005, 3:40 PM   #3

Yup, if you don't need that extra stuff the 20D gets you, the spare 600$ can buy a nice chunk of glass, or a really nice strobe.

Peter.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2005, 9:57 PM   #4

Chulmo wrote:
Quote:
I ordered an XT through Dell and it is taking way too long to be delivered. The order was delayed 3 times and now I have to wait until June 1, which could also be pushed out further.
I feel your pain... Brother... I feel your pain... I'm onthe 2nd backorder for my XT. But I got such a good deal I'm sticking it out. I hoped to have had it for my daughter's prom pictures this weekend. The F717 will have to do. Again.

dale
thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 12, 2005, 11:34 PM   #5