Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 23, 2005, 7:01 PM   #1

I'm a newbie -- so apologies for an incredibly naive question.

Assume I plan to print 4x6, 5x7 or mayble 8x10 prints. I want the best quality images. Do I set the image quality at Large -Fine, Medium -Fine, Small- Fine or something else?
JOJOJAMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2005, 7:14 PM   #2
Super Moderator

large fine.... just set it there and leave it... you never know when you may need to crop and will need the extra resolution..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2005, 9:19 PM   #3

I always have my 20D set for Large Fine as well.
AlpineMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2005, 10:52 PM   #4

Hards80 wrote:
Quote:
large fine.... just set it there and leave it... you never know when you may need to crop and will need the extra resolution..
I'm with him... In five years of digi cams i never said to myself;
"Gee i wish i had taken that picturesmaller and lower quaity."

dale

thatsanicepicture2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2005, 10:57 PM   #5

Thanks -- Now for my next silly question: Why do these images look good on the LCD, but once I load them onto my computer using the supplied Canon software the pictures are noticably (substantially) darker? Am I doing something wrong, or do I need to go into each picture and adjust the brightness? (Seems odd that it would look just fine on the CD, and lousy on the computer.)
Old May 24, 2005, 12:34 AM   #6
Super Moderator

hmm... why dont you post an example so we can see whats goin on here... just remember to resize it to somewhere in the neighborhood of 600x400ish..
Old May 24, 2005, 1:08 AM   #7

I know what you're talking about.

I was trying no flash photography indoors (at night) with the lights on. Aka suicide. BUT I thought they actually looked decent on the LCD until I uploaded it to my comp.