Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 24, 2005, 10:20 AM   #1

I've been using Canon camera's for over thirty years, starting with the mechanical FTb. Every time Canon moved the technology forword I moved with them from mechanical to electronic, from the EF mounts to the EOS (Electro Optical System)from film to digital.In other words every new generation of product.

The EOS XT Rebel combined with the EFS 17-85 IS zoom is in my opinion, themostimpressivecombination of ergonomics, compactness, versatility, walk around optical rangeand pure image quality of any camera lens combination I've ever used. I also own the 20D but find myself prefering the XT in almost every situation except maybe in studio ifI need a pc contact.

The tightness & fit and finish was better than my 20D. It's like holding one sculpted, solidpiece.

The XT combined with the superb 17-85 IS produces absolutey professional quality images on par with anythng I've ever used. I'veowned L series glass that's not as good as the 17-85.

For me , the camera lens combination with a vertical grip attached is just about as ideal aphotograpic toolas I can imagine. The balance and ergonomic feel is so good I don't want to put it down. Pure joy to use.

tonyM

tmumolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2005, 2:37 PM   #2

And how many years have you worked for Canon Marketing and Public Relations?

I've been considering replacing my 300D with a 350D, but I have not seen a review that wasasglowing as yours. I too started a while back--earlier than you, maybe, with a Canon FT in 1967 (A few months later I switched to Nikon, where I stayed until 2003). I also have a 20D, and I have the 17-85 which I often recommend to those asking about an all-purpose lens. I have to take issue with your assessment of the 17-85, even though I still recommend it, because that lens has a number of flaws: