Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 5, 2005, 7:59 PM   #1

Hi! I just got my canon digital rebel xt and I'm trying to play around with it and get a feel for it. I took some outdoor shots of my daughter and husband swimming in our pool and I got some really harsh shadows on their faces. I've had this problem with other cameras too, so I know it's the photographer (me) and not the camera :GWhat can I do to get clear outdoor pictures? Any help with be appreciated. And I'm a novice so help me understand LOL!
ChristusG is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 5, 2005, 8:12 PM   #2

Try using flash for your outdoors shots when your subject has harsh shadows to see if it helps. The popup flash may be good enough for close up shots, but you would need something more powerful if you are more than, say, 6 ft away. The following article may be helpful:

http://www.naturephotographers.net/a.../jm0503-1.html

Regards,

Bob
BobA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2005, 1:47 AM   #3

It's a matter of always thinking of your position and the suns position to your subjects. The sun should be over your shoulder(behind you in some way)to get the best exposure and even lighting. With side or rear lighting(which can be used to great effect)some flash to fill in the light(fill flash)will help greatly.
Your in camera meter will expose for the majority of the photograph, so if most of the photo is light colored or bright, the dark spots(faces)will be dark.
eosthree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2005, 2:31 AM   #4

I agree with what you are saying. However, sometimes you don't have a choice with where your subject is going to be positioned ... so flash can help.

Bob
BobA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2005, 5:05 AM   #5

BobA wrote:
Quote: