Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 27, 2005, 10:14 AM   #1

I am new to the Digital SLR scene and I am looking at the 20D and the 1D Mark-II.

What is the write speed for both of these camera's. I don't mind spending the money on a fast CF card if the camera can match the speed.
huntsvegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2005, 1:09 PM   #2

nevermind...did a little more digging and found it here

http://www.robgalbraith.com/bins/mul...?cid=6007-7303
Old Jun 27, 2005, 1:48 PM   #3

Yes the 1d's are slightly faster as writing to the extreme III cards.

But that is not the only reason to use the extreme cards, they are better armoured and supposedly stand up to abuse better :-).

Peter.
PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 27, 2005, 6:11 PM   #4

Thanks peter, I'll keep that in mind.:-)
Old Jun 27, 2005, 9:38 PM   #5

The 1D MkII is head of the 20D in almost every way.

In just what you ask, it is better because it has the ability to write to the flash while you take pictures. So even if you fill the buffer and have to wait to free up some memory, it will finish faster because it has already written some to the card. Its subtle (its not something that can be written down and stated as a number like "it writes X bytes-per-second".)

The AF is much faster and more accurate.

It has more AF points, but not only that, they are more configurable. You can set the auto-expand custom function so while you can will use the center 7 AF points while doing motion tracking, but if the subject leaves the center it will expand out to use more AF points.

Read the reviews of both cameras... you'll see how they are aimed at different markets and how much more you get with the 1D MkII.

Eric

eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2005, 7:51 AM   #6

I have both, but don't know how to give you want you want!