Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 1, 2005, 10:41 PM   #1

Hi all. Just spent an hour browsing the forum. Wow, great stuff! I think I've learned enough about lenses reading these forums in the past hour that I could be an expert! But anyway, I still haven't found anything that focused (pun not intended) on JPG and RAW file formats.

I'm a newbie to the DSLR world. In fact, I just bought my Rebel XT (with the kit) two days ago. Most of my fotos will center around people -- particularily portraits and candid shots with intentions to print them in the largest possible size I can get away with.

So with that said, when I send my files to kinko's, walmart or some online printing company
  • should I be sending them JPG (fine) or RAW?[/*]
  • and what pictures sizes can I expect from an 8 MP camera?[/*]
Thanks guys.

-Ronnell
Ronnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2005, 10:51 PM   #2

do not send raw. raw is not the finished product. raw is the preprocessed image right off the sensor w/o color correction, WB, and any post processing

if you want to get the highest quality image from it send them a tiff converted from raw after processing. they are massive but a wee bit more accurate then a jpg. that is if your doing large image output. a low (as in lowest)compression jpg is good for 8x10 of average quality but not for exposition.
sjms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2005, 8:11 AM   #3

sjms:

Ah. Thank you for the info. Could I produce bigger prints from a RAW-converted-to-TIFF file?
Ronnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2005, 9:02 AM   #4