Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 17, 2005, 12:00 AM   #1
dlw

I'm brand new with my Rebel XT and have been taking pictures of old barns out in the countryside. It's been mostly sunny with blue, cloudless skies but almost all my shots have more of a darker, gray sky than blue. Everything else about the photos looks great. I've just been shooting in full automatic mode so far. I use a UV filter on my 75-300 Canon stabilizer lens, but not on the kit lens that came with the camera and both give the same results. Do I need a polarizer filter, or is something else going on? When I use Photoshop and do autolevels, the sky turns a nice blue but the rest of the photo usually becomes too bright. Any ideas for a newbie to try? I want to stick with full auto mode for a while just to get used to the camera before I get serious.
dlw is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 17, 2005, 1:30 PM   #2

The problem with trying to suggest anything is that you're sticking to an auto mode, which basically does 95% of the work, and all that is required from the user is to compose, and press the shutter. Honestly, going into creative mode isn't really as hard as it sounds (the one you really want to avoid for now is manual (M), where you deal with both aperture and shutter). I would know because I only had the XT for about 2 months and tried creative mode on the second day I got it (that automatic pop up flash was really annoying me). But depending on you, you could actually get a hang for the technical stuff before the "artistic" stuff.