Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jul 22, 2005, 1:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

HELP!!!

I just purchased a Canon 20D and a Sigma 24-70mm F2.8 EX DG MACRO lense to go with it. I have no other lenses. When I take the camera out of it's case and turn it on, it powers up but will NOT autofocus nor will the shutter operate. I can turn it off and on and the same thing occurs. The only way I can get it to operate properly is to remove and replace the lense.

Thinking that it was a lense issue, I exchanged the lense for a 2nd one of the same. I still have the same problem. I do not have any other lenses to try, nor to I have another Canon camera to try the lense on. I did take it to local camera and they tried a Canon lense on and it worked, but that really proves nothing since if I mount the Sigma lense on the camera, it works. It only fails after being powered off and set aside for a while. I also tried (after removing and replacing the lense to get it working) letting the camera power itself off. When I powered it back on by touching the shutter release, the camera was still functioning.

My 20D firmware is 2.0.2. I don't know what vintage the lense is, except that it's new.

I don't know what else to try. My RMA number with B&H Photo Video expires in about a week and I need to make a decision on what to return to them. If I don't figure it out, I guess I'll send it all back for a refund.

kevin
kcrouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 22, 2005, 2:26 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

ps. another symptom is that when the camera is in the non-functioning mode (powered on but not autofocusing nor shuttering), the F-stop readout reads 00 (two zeros).
kcrouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2005, 4:00 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4
Default

pps. another clue: removing and replacing the battery will correct the issue. Any ideas?
kcrouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2005, 4:46 PM   #4
Super Moderator
 
Hards80's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 9,046
Default

i'd be giving a call to canon.. sounds like something wrong with the camera..
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2005, 6:53 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
surfnron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 578
Default

I have the same camera/lens combo. And I had the same problem. I sent the lens back to Sigma and asked that they fix, not replace the lens. Total time from mailing it Priority mail until I got it back was 1 week. It works fine now. It's a known problem with that combo, I don't know why Sigma hasn't corrected it in the manufacturing stage rather than mess with the returns.
Since the return, it has been a great lens.

Ron
surfnron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 23, 2005, 1:37 AM   #6
Super Moderator
 
peripatetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 3,599
Default

This of course is one reason why I have a prejudice against 3rd party lenses; not on the basis of optics - but precisely because I wouldn't be clear whose fault it is.

Canon or Sigma? And what if each blames the other?

If I have a problem with a Canon lens on a Canon camera I know where to go to get it fixed. Also I think one is rather less likely to have those problems.

Of course as your lens collection builds up it becomes much easier - now that I have 4 Canon lenses I am more inclined to purchase a 3rd party lens. If it doesn't work I can check the camera against my Canon lenses.


peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:50 AM.