Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 28, 2005, 7:27 PM   #1

If i use my camera on one of the automatic programs, and it constantly overexposes, all i have to do is turn down the "EV" right?

so, does that affect the selected aperture and shutter speeds? how does the camera select a "lower EV" on aperture priority mode for example.

thanks.
sajdahgraphics is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 28, 2005, 11:21 PM   #2

First, are you talking about the 300D? With a questions such as this, I doubt that you could be referring to a 20D or higher. But, I have been proven wrong before.

Assuming the 300D, the automatic programs do not allow any Ev adjustments. The DReb does all the settings for you, and they cannot be altered. If the lighting changes, the little computer inside the camera automatically adjusts the programto that immediately.

Your second question stumps me as I am not an expert yet. My answer would be that yes, it (the automatic programs) do affect the shutter and aperture settings. And, you have no control over them. No matter how far you turn the dial.

As for the third question about the lower Ev on the aperture priority (Av) mode. Whenin Av mode, the camera automatically selects a Tv (shutter speed) for the given lighting that it sees. You can point the camera to a dark object, a light object, etc, and the Ev indicator changes accordingly. So, whatever it reads just before pressing the shutter button is what you get. Even a tiny movement of the camera can move the Ev indicator pretty far.