Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 13, 2005, 10:27 AM   #1

Hi.* I want to get a polarizing filter for my Rebel XT kit lens.* Is that possible given the way the focus thingy is (you can see i'm new to this)?* What size do I need?* Do I get circular or standard?* Any recommendations on a particular one?* Less than 100 bucks please.* Thanks!Eric
radiohead is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 13, 2005, 1:13 PM   #2

radiohead wrote:
Quote:
Hi. I want to get a polarizing filter for my Rebel XT kit lens. Is that possible given the way the focus thingy is (you can see i'm new to this)? What size do I need? Do I get circular or standard? Any recommendations on a particular one? Less than 100 bucks please. Thanks!Eric
You need a circular polarizer or else your autofucus will not work. Get a good quality filter, and make sure it's mulitcoated. To look at pretty much every polarizing filter you could think of go to the B&H Photo site:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/cont...;Q=&ci=115

If you have the 18-55mm EF-S lens then you are looking for a 58mm circular. I'd get either the B+W MRC ($94.95) or theHoya HMC ($70.50). The B+W is a bit better constructed (brass versus aluminum ring construction), but if you were on a budget the Hoya would be just fine.

If you plan on stacking filters, make sure you get the slightly more expensive "slim" versions, or else you may get some vignetting at 18mm. The way they make them thinner is to do away with the threads that would be used to attach another filter on top. NOTE: By eliminating the threads it also means you can't attach your Canon lens cap, because it won't have anything to grip on to (you'd need to get a slip on type cap from somewhere). I never stack filters with my circ pol, and I have a 24-70mm lens, so I use the standard (no-thin) variety.