Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 15, 2005, 2:43 AM   #1

I'm new to DSLR. Planing to buy 350D soon. How do I do Manual Focusing with 350D kit lens. I know the ring is for zooming and I'm expecting a ring from focusing too. Please let me know how to do MF?

Thanks
Glass is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 15, 2005, 4:07 AM   #2

there is a switch on the lens where you can choose between AF and MF. Just flip the switch over to MF and focus manually with the outer ring on the lens.
Benzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 6:54 AM   #3

I saw the switch to set MF and AF.

Did you mean the thin ring at the tip of the lens for MF? I didn't notice that. But I saw the picture just now. Did realse that it was for MF..

How effective is MF in 350D lens kit. Will I be able to focus it to a sharp point easily? How is the accuracy? Will I be able to see clearly the focus part as sharp and others as Blur?
Glass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 9:04 AM   #4

Manual focus with the kit lens is not easy. The ring is barely there, the screen is really too small to judge whether you've actually hit the optimum focus point, the focus travel of the lens from infinity to close focus is very short so it's easy to "just"miss and ruin a photo and with no distance markers on the barrell you have no idea what the lens is set to.

Other than that, it's fairly easy to manuallyfocus......:?

Just leave it to autofocus and it will do just fine. If you reallywant to manually focus you need to do it with lenses that give you a fighting chance, like a fast, non-zoom (prime)lens.
Greg Chappell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2005, 11:13 AM   #5