Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 23, 2005, 6:04 PM   #1

Hi everyone,

I've been reading the forums and I just purchased a Canon Rebel XT. I'm totally new to photography so I just got the standard kit for now. I really need a good case for it and I do plan to eventually get a good lens for zooming far (can these also be used for macros or are they different kinds of lenses?).

My question was:

Is the canon accesory kit worth it? As far as I can tell it comes with this stuff:

Lowepro EX180 bag with a canon label attached $90 CDN or so
UV filter - seems like only useful as lens protection about $20 CDN
The battery magazine extra which is $170-$190 CDN
and of course the extra battery.

Would you guys recommmend I get this kit seeing as how I need a case of some sort, and i'll definitely get th eextra battery/magainze at some point? The price for me would be about $280 hopefully maybe $20 less if I can bargain with bestbuy (CDN).

Please let me knwo your opinions! I look forward to learning more about this camera!!

Doug
Doug_M is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 23, 2005, 11:13 PM   #2

I say shop around... That kit isn't going anywhere... Work with what you have and get a feel for what you need... Maybe after you get used to the camera you'll find out what accessories you really want...

With the exception of the filter and a spare battery... And a 1G CF card if you don't have one already... I wouldn't get the battery clip until you really need it. Starting any given day with two charged batteries is all I've ever really needed...

Life's too short to have a crappy bag that you didn't pick out yourself... I would put a little more thought into it... Go to a place with a big selection and check them out...

Good Luck!
Jimg1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2005, 11:32 PM   #3

I agree with Jimg1212. For me, I wouldn't go with the kit for the following reasons: