Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 26, 2005, 7:11 PM   #1

I'm new to SLRs. I got an XT last week and have noticed a fuzzy black spot in the upper right of all pics with a light background. Only noticable in some pics, but I'd prefer it be gone.

I tried cleaning the sensor per manual, but no change. Actaully, after the sensor claening I now have a small black spot on the LCD.

What should I do from here? I bought the cam new last week - have I bought a lemon? I'd like to know if either of these problems are real defects so I can return under warranty.

Otherwise, I love the cam!

Out, Out Damn Spot
RJ Reb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 27, 2005, 1:25 PM   #2

I just went through the same ordeal. Per recommendation on another board, I purchased a large giottos rocket blower. Even with that it took several tries, but I managed to get the blasted spec of dust off my sensor. The quality blower definitely qualifies as a must-have in my book.
devwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2005, 2:31 AM   #3

The spots are not defects and easily removed if you do it right. Do it wrong and you WILL have a defect!

The black spot on the LCD screen is probably the same spot, it is just showing up on the IMAGES you are viewing on the screen.

Set the camera to a 30 second exposure, have your blower brush ready WITHOUT the brush, face the camera opening to the floor and press the shutter. This helps dust fall OUT of the camera.

WITHOUT the brush on the blower, squeeze the air fast and continuously into the camera, aiming at the sensor AND the focussing screen to get rid of all dust.

Make sure you stop well before the 30 seconds isup and make sure the batteries are fully charged.

Put the lens back on and try a few shots, repeat until all dust has gone. If problem persists, take to a pro cleaner or dealer to have it done properly.