Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Sep 24, 2005, 4:10 PM   #1

I'm pretty new to digital SLR photography and have had my Canon Digital Rebel XT with the stock lens and i recently picked up a Canon Speedlight 420EX and needed some advice about shooting my friends wedding.

I wish I had a better lens but i'm going to have to do with the stock one.

Basically the wedding will be indoor and outdoor at a place in Long Beach called "the reef", a restaurant which is on the harbor next to the Queen Mary cruise ship. Time of day will be 5pm tomorrow (sunday) so early i'll have good outdoor lighting. Since i'm a rookie, and only doing this as a favor (they're on a very low budget so i just offered to shoot pictures free)

Do any of you have suggestons about shooting weddings and what to do and what not to do? I'm planning on doing most shooting on the Program AE setting, probably in RAW since i'm grabbing a 2gb Microdrive today because my current 512mb Ultra II will definately not be enough. I'm going to shoot as much as I can with having enough leeway via RAW to fix any stupid mistakes i make and about an hour ago i had a good conversation with my Uncle who has done weddings but has much nicer gear than me. Unfortunately he will not let me borrow any of his lenses considering they're all super high end Canon glass.

I know basic photography principals but since this is my first time actually doing something serious, i wanna make sure i do things right.

I'm definately going to show up at least an hour early just to get the feel of the place and the lighting, positioning for the ceremony, etc.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. I want to do the best job i possibly can.

Thanks in advance,

Andrew
Andrew LB is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 24, 2005, 4:22 PM   #2