Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Sep 30, 2005, 6:59 PM   #1

Hi, I have recently purchased a Canon 20D and I am finding a lot of my pictures are out of focus. The attached photo has the following settings:

P Mode

1/80 F5.0

ISO 200

70-300mm Sigma lens

Focal Length 214.0

I am also finding if I take a group photo of people,some of the people are blurry,some are not. In others ,if someone is standing slightly behind another,the person at the rear is blurred. I am new to Digital SLR and any help appreciated.
Attached Images

cock3tail is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 30, 2005, 9:58 PM   #2

for large group shots, try setting you camera to A-DEP. this shoud try to bring everyone into focus by setting a large depth of field. Otherwise make sure your auto focus point is set to the center point for normal shots. At the longer focal lengths camera shake can also come into play, a tripod of monopod will do wonders even though they sometimes can be a hassel. Or try to brace yourself or the cameraagainstsomething solid to steady it.
Caboose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2005, 11:20 PM   #3

First try at a DSLR :-).
Search about there are quite a few posts that meniton that all images from a DSLR probably require some post processing.
The DSLR's do not automatically sharpen and pump up the color like the point & shoots.

I applied a few steps to your image (small jpg, not my normal raw's so not much to work with:blah

Steps applied in PS CS2
Action: defog
neatimage
unsharp to L channel
Action: basicWorkFlow including dropping back the background
shadow/highlight adjust

For the group shots your F stop is probably not big enough for a large enough DOF with a long lens Try DOFMaster to figure out what would be in focus at a given focal length, f-stop and distance.

Attached Images

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 30, 2005, 11:32 PM   #4