Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 15, 2005, 12:51 PM   #1

Hello, I'm fairly new to DSLR Photography (less than 2 years) and am looking for best practices with my Canon 20D. When I shoot indoors, for example, what are some best practices as far as mode/settings. SHould I use shutter priority/aperture priority? Should I manually control everything? I guess if you can answer this question as if you were doing wedding photography (indoor) and then answer these questions:how would you shoot??? What modes, etc...? Any help is MUCH appreciated!!! Thanks.

*Note I am using a Canon 17-40mm L Series lens with the Canon Speedlite 580EX for most of my shooting.
sapontejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2005, 6:32 PM   #2

First off, nice flash and lens. I have both of those (with the 20D) and that is a capable package.

What mode you want to shoot in is really dependent on what type of shot you are trying to take.

It is really all about the effects you get when you change the aperture or the shutter speed. Its also partially about what metering mode you are in.

The larger the fstop (smaller the aperture) the more depth of field you'll have. If you want separation between the subjects and the background, then you want a smaller fstop (smaller depth of field.) If you want more depth of field (getting the entire group of people in focus) then you want a larger aperture.

If you want to stop action, then you want a faster shutter speed. But to get a faster shutter speed you either need lots of light or a lower fstop. This means that you trade stopping action vs. larger depth of field. Get it? There is an interaction there that you have to learn if you want to get exactly the effect you want.

Does all this make sense?