Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Oct 17, 2005, 10:18 PM   #1

:OI am thinking about getting the 20D, but if something new is coming out this spring, I would love to wait for it to see if they fix the 1/250th flash synch issue (should be 1/500th I'm told), the tiny LCD screen issue, and the menu that is almost unreadable in sunlight. I don't want to drop $2800 on a setup and then find out that the 20D replacement is way better than what I've got.

However, I don't know if I can afford the big bucks if anyone thinks the replacement for the 20D may cost another $500, especially if the improvements are only marginal. I wonder if I would be better off with the 20D and use the rebates so I get $300 off the 20D if I get 2 extralenses. (total rebate about $420 if I get the 20D w/17-85mm lense, a macro, and a wide)

Anyone have an opinion about what is a better deal or smarter move? I am new to digital SLR, looking for info. I can wait until spring to buy the camera, no big hurry. Besides, I have until early Jan when the rebate ends, but I'd appreciate some feedback now if anyone has any. Thanks.
speleojeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 17, 2005, 10:38 PM   #2

Unless you need the extra features of the 20D, buy the Rebel XT instead.

Then buy some 3rd party lenses like a Tamron or a Sigma, or maybe the Canon 17-85 IS (stabilized).

Don't forget you will also need a case, media (recommend minimum 1gb compact flash card), tripod and external flash (eventually).

-- Terry
terry@softreq.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2005, 10:38 PM   #3

Then buy some 3rd party lenses like a Tamron or a Sigma, or maybe the Canon 17-85 IS (stabilized).

Don't forget you will also need a case, media (recommend minimum 1gb compact flash card), tripod and external flash (eventually).

-- Terry
Old Oct 17, 2005, 10:39 PM   #4

-- Terry
Old Oct 18, 2005, 11:53 AM   #5