Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Nov 6, 2005, 3:27 PM   #1

Hi! Yes I am a newbie who has just sold my Finepix S7000 and come over to this camera.....which I'm using for scrapbooking work I do for a magazine. I haven't shot RAW before but had a play this morning and now they won't download only the jpegs keep appearing. Any help appreciated. I know there must be something I'm not doing but I don't seem to be able to upload the images into Photo Professional that came with the camera....my options are Photoshop, Album or Zoombrowser...all of which I have but none of which will accept the RAW images.:roll:

Any help really appreciated! Not many people in NZ will own the camera but I've been a "lurker" on this forum for a while.

Mands
momof4nz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 6, 2005, 5:09 PM   #2

You'll have to convert your RAW files to JPGs or TIFFs before they can be edited with the software you're using, though the latest versions of Photoshop and Elements do convert RAW files.

You can either use the software that came with your camera to do the conversion or use any of several available programs to do the conversion. I like BreezeBrowser, but you'll be able to find some good free ones on the Web if you don't like the Canon program.

During the conversion process you'll be able to adjust white balance, saturation and/or sharpness. This capability makes the extra steps brought about by RAW shooting worthwhile.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2005, 5:29 PM   #3

Thanks for that.....I knew I'd have to take the RAW file and convert to tiff or psd but the trouble is when I plug the USB into the camera and the computer, the only files that are uploading are those shot in jpeg (manual) mode......none of the one's where I had it set in RAW and played with the apertures, etc.