Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 2, 2005, 12:10 PM   #1

I am considering the Rebel. I will be taking pictures from a boat and am interested in the extent that a stabilizer would benefit my picture taking.

Will a canon stabilizer lens work with the rebel?

Interested in general thougths.
trout21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2005, 12:28 PM   #2

Any Canon stabilized EF or EF-S (IS) lens will work with a Digital Rebel or Rebel XT. You can probably get good pictures with a non-stabilized lens from a boat as well, by increasing shutter speed.

A word of caution... no digital camera likes to get wet. Even sprayed water isn't good for them.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2005, 12:45 PM   #3

Thanks for the caution. I will have a special case for it and I plan to avoid using it under conditions where spray is a danger.

I am a novice and would appreciate your input. I was thinking that for telephoto images I would gain some advantage with the added benefit of the stabilizer. Would I? I also would want to use the auto settings. I am assuming the action option would be what I would want. Any thoughst you have on this issue and lenses would be appreciated.
Old Dec 2, 2005, 4:20 PM   #4

Every year I go on a vacation up the cast and photograph from a boat. I use the Canon 100-400 IS lens, and I feel the IS saves me a lot. I bet my shots wouldn't be as good without it.

To get a higher shutter speed I don't have many choice:
I wouldn't want to hand hold the 400 f2.8 (and it's really expensive.)
The 400 f4 DO is really light, made for hiking and hand holding. And it has IS. But its also really expensive. I can't justify it as I've already got the 600mm f4 IS.