Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Dec 28, 2005, 6:33 PM   #1

Greetings to all! First of all, let me say that I am a newcomer to the forum, and I would like to compliment all of you on your willingness to help each other. It seems like a nice "community."

The purpose of my post is to run a "newbie" idea by you and solicit any advice that you'd care to share. I am new to the world of photography, and I am trying to assemble a nice "package." I want to make sure that what I am considering purchasing is appropriate/compatible for my interests. I am mainly interested in photographing rural landscapes, animals/pets(both moving and still), and family get-togethers.

The components I am considering are:

1. either the Canon Rebel XT or the 20D - I'm about 75% sold on the 20d

2. the EF-S 17-85 IS - this strikes me as a good all-purpose lens.

3. the Pixma iP8500

Please feel free to make any comments/suggestions that you think would be helpful. Thanks in advance for you time and insights.

Mark

Mark22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2005, 9:17 PM   #2
Super Moderator

well, it seems as you have done your homework..

both camera's are superb..i have the 20d and love it but would not feel undertooled if i were using the rebel xt..

the 17-85 IS is a great all-purpose lens.. it covers a useful focal length, has a good image stabilization system and is quite sharp considering the range it covers..

the pixma 8500 is a great letter size printer.. one of the best color outputs made right now..