Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 2, 2003, 5:36 PM   #1
SSD

Default Need help with D10 question RE: Lenses

We are considering buying the D10 along with a digi point and shoot. My worry with the D10 is my lenses. I currently have a Canon SLR film camera with several lenses made by canon, sigma and Tamron. Will the Sigma and Tamron be compatible on the D10? Please forgive my ignorance, I am a newbie to the world of digital!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 2, 2003, 9:44 PM   #2

If the lenses are for a Canon EOS system, they "should" work. Sometimes certain Sigma lenses need to be "rechipped" if they don't work right, but usually they work fine.

If your Canon lenses are for the older Canon systems, i.e., pre-EOS, they won't work.

Lin
Lin Evans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2003, 9:48 PM   #3
SSD

My lenses are for EOS cameras.
Thanks!
SSD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2003, 10:42 AM   #4

I would recommend you use Canon USM lenses on Canon digital camera if you can, it works and focus faster, especially on the large aperture lenses (F/ 2.8 or larger). Tamron is good brand but their AF is two slow (the design is not good, the look is terible), Sigma has the same problem except for the HSM lenses (AF is trememdously improve, fast and silent as the USM, highly recomended, beautiful designed on the EX series). Stay away from those older Sigma lenses, they are non compatable with the new 10D, unless you send it in for re-chip.

I used the following lenses for my 10D
16-35mm L
28-80mm L
28-135 IS (good lens, reasonable price, IS helps you shoot picture in low light, handheld)
Sigma 28-700 mm EX HSM F/2.8.

I have no problem with any of these lenses so far...
tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2003, 10:03 PM   #5

[email protected]