Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Mar 22, 2006, 8:14 PM   #1

Okay,

Obviously I am no professional. I have been borrowing an EOS 300D and like it much better than my small point and shoot, both from a perspective of feel and picture quality. So I am trying to find the camera that is going to be right for me.

Having a baby, I will do a decent amount of indoor shooting. Currently that is one complaint I have with the current 300D setup. It has the kit lens and f/4.5 just isnt' low enough to get decent indoor results without a flash, even at higher ISOs.

I like the quality and versatility of the dSLRs, but I also like the overall convenience of the prosumer Ultra Zooms.

I was originally planning on first getting a 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 zoom lens to use with the 300D that I am borrowing, then getting an 18-50mm f/2.8 for a majority of indoor shooting, and then picking up a 350D body.

Reading the reviews of the 18-200mm lens though, the general consensus is that the quality is much better using 2 separate lenses. While that may be true, for the type of shooting that I am going to be doing, the convenience of a single lens is going to outweigh the quality enhancement.

I then saw the Fujifilm S9000 that is appealing because it is a single package 18-200mm f/2.8-f/4.9 and although the high ISO noise isn't as good as a dSLR, it is certainly better than something like the Lumix FZ30

Obviously using the Canon EOS 350D with the 18-50 f/2.8 is going to do better indoor shots shots than the Fujifilm S9000. However, what I am trying to figure out (which is especially difficult since there isn't a local dealer that carries both of these cameras and lenses) is what is going to provide a better photographic experience (quality, camera performance, etc) across the board the S9000 or the 350D w/ 18-200mm lens?