Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Mar 30, 2006, 7:48 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 239
Default

Got my 30D on Tuesday - Roberts was out & I needed mine to try & learn a few basic things before I go out on a trip for the weekend. I found mine on Monday at DeVille Camera in Jackson, MS & had it overnighted via Fed Ex for $35.00.

So far - wow what a camera! Nice BIG LCD screen, which by the way, is VERY easy to get fingerprints on. Startup time is on as soon as you turn it on. I tried a couple of pix indoors with my 430EX - set camera to P until I have the time to read the manual, & washed them out. Built-in pop up did good. Tested a few shots last night & set the camera in Manual & the flash in automatic, & it worked better. Now to learn more & try out my Metz flash to see how it fares. (by the way, I only shot in P indoors as I always shoot in TV Mode outdoors 98% of the time).So far, I have used mainly my 28-135IS & my 17-40. Next up to test will be my New Tamron 28-75, my 50 1.8 & my 70-300IS. I also plan on using my tripod as well to really test for sharpness. So far, when out shoting in bright sunlight, I find the shutter speed & f-stop very hard to even see, compared to my 300D - which I kept - it's paid for, has never let me down, & performs very well. Just not really good in low light above ISO 800.

More reports after the weekend.
Railfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 30, 2006, 4:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 238
Default

Congratulations! Looking forward to your field report after the weekend.
harana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2006, 1:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 239
Default

One thing I found out today(Thursday) - my Metz 54 AF-1C will not go to E-TTL or to Manual Lo on the 30D, so I called Metz & they said to send it in & have the software updated. All it willcost me is the shipping to them. But, get this - my Sunpak 522, circa about Late 1980's works - in both the TV Mode & in Manual mode. Just needs a diffuser. Go figure . . . .
Railfire is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:49 AM.