Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 9, 2006, 7:03 PM   #1

Canon Digital Rebel 300D : shutter curtain vane jammed

What is it going to cost to get this repaired? Experiences, prices and tips, please!

I used to be a foreign car mechanic. We'd see things "like this" that were the result of manufacturing design "choices." The only way that a guided vane can get sideways is by "twisting and flapping." That suggests the design choice behind rivot-hinges is simply wrong. Or the hinges are still good and the vane material itself has fatigued (doesn't look like it to me).

Did Canon simply use the shutter from a film camera in a digital camera? The cost of film and processing limits the number of shutter clicks in a film camera (on average). Not so in a digital camera. I'm limited only by the cost of my DVD burner and new blanks ($0.15 each).

In a typical one day photo trip, I'd shoot a minimum of 10 GBs of frames with a typical JPG size of 2.5 MB for 4000 shots per day trip. I'd estimate I easily make 40 trips with that camera. That's at least 150,000 snaps.

Why would I pay $1000 to use a camera only for 40 days use!!!

Steve of Steve's Digicams: In your review of the XT Digital Rebel, did you ask Canon what they did to increase the life of their shutter assembly?

SteveModena is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2006, 7:16 PM   #2
Administrator

SteveModena wrote:
Quote:
In a typical one day photo trip, I'd shoot a minimum of 10 GBs of frames with a typical JPG size of 2.5 MB for 4000 shots per day trip. I'd estimate I easily make 40 trips with that camera. That's at least 150,000 snaps.

Why would I pay $1000 to use a camera only for 40 days use!!!

Steve of Steve's Digicams: In your review of the XT Digital Rebel, did you ask Canon what they did to increase the life of their shutter assembly?
Let me get this straight. Are you saying that you shot 150,000 images in 40 days?