Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Apr 15, 2003, 5:49 AM   #1

Default Sigma 16-30EX on EOS 10D

Has anybody used?
Does vignetting with a polariser on front extend into cropped FOV on D30/D60 or 10D?
I'm new to high quality lenses, if you can't fit a front filter without vignetting, how can you protect this expensive glass?
Are such lenses degraded noticeably by filters such as UV :?:
siggo is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2003, 1:43 PM   #2

Default Re: Sigma 16-30EX on EOS 10D

Quote:
Originally Posted by siggo
Has anybody used?
Does vignetting with a polariser on front extend into cropped FOV on D30/D60 or 10D?

With proper technique of how to use the polarizer filter, you can avoid the vignetting problem on the superwide angle lens, use good grade glass lens, avoid stack filters together.

I'm new to high quality lenses, if you can't fit a front filter without vignetting, how can you protect this expensive glass?

Polarizer is a specialized filter, use to increase contrast, darken blue sky and minimize the reflection of shinning objects, but it must be use properly to achieve the results (90 degree angle into the direction of the sun light), it is not the type of the filter that you can leave it on the lens all the times to protect the lens. In additon, most of these filters will decrease at least 2 F-stop of the lens (ex F/2.8 will become F/5.6). If you want to protect the lens from dust and minor shock, you need to use clear filter or UV filter and always attach the lens hood for the lens.

Are such lenses degraded noticeably by filters such as UV :?:

Using multi-coated high-grade glass filters such as the B+W and the Hoya pro 1 will not de-grade the quality of your lenses.
tuanokc@hotmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 15, 2003, 9:55 PM   #3