Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 22, 2006, 11:24 AM   #1

I've been itching to buy a zoom lens for my 20D. Right now I'm using the Canon 18mm-55mm lens that came with the camera. I feel the NEED for zoom!:-) I'm looking at the Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 USM IS and the Sigma AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC. I like the Canon because of the Image Stabilizer and the 300mm but I'd like to carry only one lens. The Sigm'a nice and small but is it 100% compatible with the 20D? Also, it doesn't have the IS which I think I might need. I have a hard time keeping the camera still. I'm new to this camera stuff so I'm not sure which is better. Should I just deal with carrying 2 lens or do I... Help! :-(

Thanks!

Chris

cmoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 23, 2006, 9:57 AM   #2

Chris,

A lot depends on your standards for image quality. Any mega-zoom lens on the market (like a 18-200) is going to have worse image quality than a zoom with a shorter range. That's just the nature of the beast. It is why SLRs are designed to allow you to change lenses. Typically a 'mega zoom' will perform poorly at either extreme - wide end and long end and will often perform poorly at max aperture. So, I'm not a big fan of these types of lenses. IMHO, you spent a lot of money on a very nice camera - why put a poor lens on it?

I've seen some good results from people using theCanon 70-300 and it's Sigma counterpart (not the 18-200). You mention steadiness issues so the IS of the Canon may be a huge bonus for you. But it does mean you'll have to switch lenses.

But, the question is: what exactly are you looking for besides more zoom? Are you looking for a telephoto lens for wildlife or sports? Or is the kit lens just too short for your walkaround lens?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 23, 2006, 5:11 PM   #3