Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 9, 2006, 2:35 PM   #1

I need some advice on the best digital camera and lenses for football photography. I am concerned with distances and the proper lense to use for sideline photography. I am new to the sports photography side of things. I do not have the budget for a huge telephoto zoom. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks
Free Times is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 9, 2006, 8:15 PM   #2

Well, the ideal setup is a 1d Mk IIN and 400mm 2.8 but I'm guessing you don't have $10,000 to spend.

What kind of football - American football or international (i.e. soccer)?

What level of play and under what timeframes?

The best non-pro sports body is going to be either the 30d or 20d.The 350 is OK butsports shooting is the one area wherethe 20d/30d really makes a big difference - due to ability to shoot ISO 3200,5fps burst vs 3 and precision focusing with a 2.8 lens.

The ideal starter lens for eitherAmerican football or Soccer is a 70-200 2.8 plus 1.4x TC for good light.If you can't afford the Canon then Sigma makes a nice version for around $750 (I own one and it's been great). There are several less expensive lensesbut they're not well suited to sports because they don't have 2.8 capability at the zoom end so I wouldn't generally recommend them for sports.

So,which football under which lighting conditions (daylight, possible night, definite night under lights)

And, of course,what is your budget for the camera and lens?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2006, 10:54 PM   #3