Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jun 23, 2006, 4:52 PM   #1

Hi,

I am planning on buying myself a new DSLR and have narowed it down to the rebel xt and the 20d or 30d.

I am just wondering if there is a HUGE difference between the xt and 20 or 30d. I am by no means a pro photographer but am slowly learning. I like to take macro as well as low tungsten (theatre) shots.

is it worth spending the extra money on the 20 or 30, or should i get the xt and spend the extra money on lenses?
thanks,
amy
Amesdabomb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 24, 2006, 3:25 AM   #2

Depends solely on the photograpy you do, based on the 2 you list, i would choose the rebel.

The noticable difference's between the camera's are: Faster and deeper burst, A higher iso option, a bigger (and slightly better) body. none of the things you would really notice during macro/concert photography.

For concert photography you're better off buying a nice fast prime, like the 50 MM F/1.8 canon.

But do try both camera's before buying, the rebel is quite small, too small for some people. I made the choice between both camera's recently, and went for the more expensive 30D. The rebel was just too small for me, especially with some of the big lenses i use like sigma's 50-500, and coming from a 10D. And doing sports, the faster and deeper burst makes photographing fast cars/planes easier.
Marc H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 24, 2006, 2:21 PM   #3

Marc has some good advice!

I would only add the following:

You may find the ISO 3200 capability of the 20d/30d to be beneficial.

I would say if you can find a new 20d for $1000 then get it - the higher ISO, burst rate and better build are worth the extra $$ IMO.