Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Jul 21, 2006, 10:09 PM   #1

How do I set the exposure level in manual mode. I am a newbie to manual mode. It's set all the way to the left. I have a Canon Rebel XT.:G
Imacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 21, 2006, 11:11 PM   #2
djb

you don't. with manual mode you have complete control for over/under exposure by adjusting shutter speed or aperature.

dennis
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2006, 11:30 PM   #3

But if you want to follow the "suggested" exposure, just adjust either the aperture or shutter until the "bar" at the exposure meter is at the center.

Note, that you need to adjust the aperture by keeping your finger on the Av button and turn the wheel next the shutter.
BoYFrMSpC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2006, 11:31 PM   #4

Bar to the right of center? Overexposed.

-Set ISO Lower, Increase Shutter Speed, Decrease Aperature (higher f)

Bar to the left of center? Underexposed.

-Set ISO Higher, Decrease Shutter Speed, Increase Aperature (lower f)

Or any combination of those three elements. Higer ISO means a grainy-er image, so I would suggest you fix the other two first.
fireserphant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2006, 8:46 AM   #5

fireserphant wrote:
Quote:
Bar to the right of center? Overexposed.

-Set ISO Lower, Increase Shutter Speed, Decrease Aperature (higher f)

Bar to the left of center? Underexposed.

-Set ISO Higher, Decrease Shutter Speed, Increase Aperature (lower f)

Or any combination of those three elements. Higer ISO means a grainy-er image, so I would suggest you fix the other two first.