Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old May 19, 2003, 12:41 PM   #1
LFW

Default Is it worth abandoning my Nikon lenses to change to the 10D?

:? Help! I've thrown this question out to the general population, but didn't get much feedback, so at the risk of getting biased answers I'm asking Canon users, so please try to overcome loyalty for a straight opinion. I'm not a professional photographer, but am a serious amateur. I've been a Nikon user (N90) ops: for about 9+ years. Soooo, I have 4 really nice Nikon lenses, BUT I have read so many good things about the Canon 10D and especially like the idea of the CMOS image sensor, that I am leaning toward the 10D as opposed to a Nikon D100 for my next camera. (I have a Nikon 880 but want to go to SLR) Is this crazy or worth the change and the $. Changing lenses frequently on a digital camera seems to be frowned on anyway and low and behold I can't use my SB25 flash TTL on the D100 anyway. I would love to hear anyone's opinion on my delemma. Many thanks!
LFW is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 19, 2003, 1:35 PM   #2
NHL

Hey Join the Club!

I have really good Minolta 'G' lenses, and doing the same... May be next year and another model and we can all go back... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I'm going for the Sigma EX series to limit the damage in wide aperture lenses. 8)
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2003, 5:44 PM   #3

There are many fascets to this questions.

Money: You would have to sell those lenses at a loss and buy replacement lenses. On average (only talking money here) Canon lenses are cheaper for the same lens, but I bet you will still be out money in the exchange. Can you afford to do that?