Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 11, 2006, 8:11 PM   #1

Hi All,

I am a film guy and want to buy a dslr. I had wanted to buy the Nikon D200 but after speaking to some of the stores, they have suggested that I look at the 30D. I read reviews about noise over ISO 400 on the Nikon even though I am not sure I would shoot that high. I never shoot over 200 ASA film. I am not sure of they both equate the same since I am new to this. My heart is saying Nikon but my head is saying canon. I appreciate any help you can give.

Thanks- Ken
ken6217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 12, 2006, 1:04 AM   #2

Ken,

While most of the posters here on the Canon board are Canon owners. However, we're pretty open to suggesting other brands. In fact now that the D80 isout, you actually have yet another reason to consider getting a Nikon. If you posted this on the Nikon board, you will definitely get a lot strongerpushfor going with Nikon. You said you were a film guy. What type of camera are you using for film? My suggestion is to go with the same dSLR brand to cut down on lens cost.

I have the Canon 20D/5D and a number of Canon lenses.I like Canon;lately I've thought seriouslyabout buying one of the low-endanti shake camera models by Pentax or Minolta for use as a vacation/walk aroundcamera.