Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 12, 2006, 2:37 PM   #1

Hello Everyone,

I'm new to photography. I have always used point and shoot digital cameras. But I recently received a Canon 30D as a gift. I'd like to take indoor high school basketball photos of my son. I've never had any luck with the point and shoot in auto mode. I know there are many other variables to take into consideration here but I'd like some advice on what lens to use for this. I'm on a budget and am looking for a lens in the $600 or under range. Anyone willing to provide settings info would be greatly appreciated as well.

One last question. Does a lens with image stabilization lend itself well to this type of photography? Thanks
soliz39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 12, 2006, 10:30 PM   #2

Firstly, you don't need image stabilisation as your subjects will be moving. Any shutter speed fast enough to stop them will also be fast enough to stop camera shake (which is what IS is used for).
What you need is a fast lens. Which lens depends upon just how close you are to the action.
Ideally I guess you would get a 70-200f2.8 which would cover pretty much the whole zoom range you need and should be fast enough. New, the cheapest is a sigma and it's just a little bit out of your price range.
A very cheap option is a 50mmf1.8. This is a pretty quick lens and is incredibly cheap at well under $100. This would be great if you can get close enough to the court.
There are other fast primes between 50 and 200mm but they are nowhere near as cheap as the 50 and you may want to blow your budget and get the 70-200 instead as it's a lot more versatile and is a lens you will never regret owning.