Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon EOS dSLR

Old Aug 30, 2006, 9:52 AM   #1

Hi Everyone,

Well this has been a hard debate for myself and thought I'd get the opinions of everyone here on what would be the best choice.

I'm still new to photography (not so new that I don't know what ISO/Tv,Av, etc.) and have just purchased a little over a month ago, a Rebel XT. I went through quite a few lenses to arrive at my current one, the 28-135 IS lens. The lens has been good to most extents but I've been wanting a bit more "wow" out of it (always seems a little soft, a constant f/4 is quite nice compared to the 5.6 at 135). On the camera side, I enjoy the Rebel XT but there are a lot of annoyances that tend to bug me (small ones). Some of these are the build construction (knew going into it), small LCD, spot metering, larger buffer, higher ISO. I've been going through headaches of financial plots of what buying choice would be wiser and what option would I achieve better/more by. The lens holds its value, the body doesn't; the speculation of the 40D in the Spring makes me wonder why go this one. Then again, I feel I may get more for my money on the camera then the lens. Going back to the lens, I'll still have similar picture quality on the 30D if I kept the 28-135mm and the point of a camera is to produce beautiful pictures so is the 30D defeating the purpose? Or is the "L" lens not so dramatically different that it'll justify the 30D?

Cost wise though is that it's cheaper for me to upgrade to the 30D:

- $140 30D

- $360 24-105L Lens

These amounts are what I have to pay extra from what I've paid now (I just received 420.00 free from Amazon )

I truly appreciate any help those here can give and thank you!

Cheers,

Garrett
GMCloud27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 30, 2006, 12:17 PM   #2

Garrett,