Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Sep 11, 2006, 11:21 AM   #1

I am an amateur photographer who recently volunteered to take some sport photos for the college paper. One of the sports I was asked to cover was volleyball. I havea Canon Rebel XT with 2 lenses. A Canon 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6, and a Quantary 70-200mm f/4-5.6.

I have been searching around the Internet for a few days, reading up on the problems associated with indoor gymnasium photography. Based on this reading, it sounds like I have one of two solutions:

1) Buy a good flash, which I would prefer not to do as I suspect this may make my presence unwelcome.

2) Buy a lens with a lower f/stop

Since I can take photos from court side, the 70-200mm doesn't seem to be a good choice. That, and the fact that since it's a community college, the lighting is about that of a high school gym.

It sounds like I need something along the lines of a f/1.8, but most of them seem to be expensive. I did find a Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 for $75 and wanted to know if you guys thought this lens was a good solution to my problem. I realize this is not a zoom lens, so I'll have to rely on zoom feet. :-)

Any other suggested lenses or tips are definitely welcome. My price range is simple -- as cheap as possible. :-)
Matt McMahon is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 11, 2006, 1:10 PM   #2

Just thought I would follow up with a sample image of what I was getting.

I was using the following settings:

ISO 1600, Shutter 1/250, Aperature F/5

I felt that I needed the ISO 1600 to help freeze action, but then couldn't go higher than 250 without the photo becoming way too dark. SinceI was using Tv, the aperature was setup authomatically.

Was looking more and found a Sigma 28-70 / 2.8-4 ASPH (no cue what ASPH is) for $119.00. Would this be a better lens?