Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 2, 2006, 1:37 PM   #1

Hello,

I am an amateur photographer and I have a Canon XT with kit lens. I have no experience shooting weddings or people for that matter. I have taken a couple of classes and know how to shoot in various modes and also I like to shoot in raw format so that I can make changes later on. Next month my brother is having an engagement ceremony (the wedding is next year). As they are only exchanging rings my parents (who are paying for everything) want me to take pictures of the ceremony. Anything suggestions or comments would be appreciated. I probably need a better lens & a flash. What would you recommend? My budget is pretty tight. I might be able to spend around 500 total. The ceremony is going to be taking place in a reception hall. Around 100 people and as I am the brother I can make / brake any rules so flashes would beallowed. If I don't do this, my parents are going to have my uncle to do it. He has a Nikon D70 and only knows how to shoot in auto mode.

Thank you for all your help.

nv1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 3, 2006, 2:43 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Make your uncle do it.

The pictures might not be quite as good, but everyone will hate him and not you.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 5:47 AM   #3

Quote:
The pictures might not be quite as good, but everyone will hate him and not you
Hahaha! Love it...good advice!
Freefly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 9:17 AM   #4

i finally got through to my parents and convinced them to get a pro. I told them if it was that easy then they wouldn't be charging money for it.

Thanks for the advice, made me laugh.

nv1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 3, 2006, 12:05 PM   #5

nv1983 wrote:
Quote: