Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Dec 13, 2006, 8:50 PM   #1

Just bought the XTi and two sigma lenses to go with it. I am a newbie so I didn't want to spend a fortune and got the Sigma 28-70mm F2.8-4and Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 Macro. I was playing around with the camera andthe two lenses for a couple of minutes and on both lenses locked up on me when trying to adjust them. Am I doing something wrong? Both came "unlocked" with me playing around with them. Any help would be appreciated. Want to make sure I didn't get defective merchandise.

sapro11

sapro11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2006, 5:56 AM   #2

It's highly unlikely that two different lenses would both be defective with the same problem. It's much more likely that your 'playing around' caused them to lock.
Were you trying to manually focus with the Autofocus swich locked ?
My advice would be to first read the manual a couple of times to familiarise yourself with the lens controls.
Stranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2006, 8:04 PM   #3
Super Moderator

Glad you are in the Canon club but more importantly for photographic development welcome to the dSLR club!!!

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"What do you mean by the lenses lockup on you? Is it the zoom, focus, shuts camera down????
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2006, 11:18 AM   #4