Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Jan 4, 2007, 12:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

Just bought the above mentioned lens, it is nice...for more reach can I pair it with the canon 1.4x teleconverter...will the IS work? Thanks, Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2007, 12:54 PM   #2
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,547
Default

Yes -> 280mm @ f/5.6
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 2:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

I am sorry NHL, don't know what you mean...is that thewidest aperture with the converter...donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 2:49 PM   #4
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

Yes - pairing a 1.4x TC with a lens causes a 1-stop loss of aperture. So, with the TC on it, the lens will only open up to 5.6 (which means you'll still have autofocus).
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 4:16 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

And how much reach will I have...? Do the fine people of this forum recommend using canon as the converter as opposedto Kenko or Tamron...Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 4:45 PM   #6
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

Multiply the focal length of the lens by 1.4 and you have your answer to what the lens focal length will be equivelent to. Then, if you prefer to do so, you can multiply that value by 1.6 to include the magnification/crop factor of your camera - that final number is what the equivelent focal length would be on a film camera (close enough anyway - it's not technically true - it's only the Field of View that is the same).

So use whichever value holds meaning to you: 200 * 1.4 or 200 * 1.4 * 1.6


JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 4:46 PM   #7
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

D.Ann wrote:
Quote:
Do the fine people of this forum recommend using canon as the converter as opposedto Kenko or Tamron...Donna
I'm confused - I thought in another post you indicated you had already bought a 1.4x TC? Do you not still have it?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2007, 4:50 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

I purchased a vivitar series one converter to go with an older EF 70-300 mm lens someone gave me. The person took the lens back and I decided to go for broke an bought the 70-200L lens. I don't want to put the vivitar on that do I? Donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2007, 8:01 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Imaginat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 226
Default

Bumping this up because I want to know, too!! Anybody know? I think if it is the same mount, it can be used with either lens, is this right?
Imaginat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2007, 8:05 AM   #10
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

In theory yes - as long as the TC is a canon EF mount then it can be used with the 70-200 f4. Unfortunately I haven't heard of the Vivitar TC before so I don't know if that theory translates into reality.

But I still have another question Donna - you wanted a TC for a 300mm lens because it was too short. Then you had to give up the 300mm lens and replaced it with a 200mm lens. So if 200mm was too short, why buy a lens half the focal length to replace it?
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:17 AM.