Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 18, 2007, 11:16 AM   #1

Hello Everyone,

In a few weeks I will be visiting India (Delhi and Kolkata) and I wanted to take my Canon XT with me. As I don't have that much money I was planning to rent 1 or 2 lenses and take them to India. I would be taking a lot of pictures of daily life and scenery. I was thinking of getting a Canon 10-22mm & a Canon 17-85mm IS or the Canon 28-135mm what are your thoughts? Any suggestions? This is my first time going on such a trip so any knowledge would be appreciated. Thank you! For all your help.

NV
nv1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 18, 2007, 12:33 PM   #2

Just a thought - you might want to check with whoever you're planning on renting from that taking the lens out of country doesn't violate the terms of your rental agreement. You might not care and decide to do it anyway and not tell them - up to you.

But, you also don't say what lens you currently have? The kit lens? If so, then I would stick with that for that focal range - landscape shots will be taken stopped down anyway. So, the question becomes whether your style of photography indicates you need wider or longer lenses. I think the 17-85 is too much overlap. So, if you want really wide then get the 10-22. Otherwise I think maybe a 70-300 might be a good idea - small, light and combined with the kit lens you'd have a pretty good focal range coverage with light-weight lenses.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2007, 2:27 PM   #3

when i travellled last time, i carried 12-24, 17-50, 50mm f1.8, 85mm 1.8

almost the 17-50 stayed for ever.

if u want street photo or daily life i would stick with something in 18-50.

the ultra wide is something u will use once a while and its not that important unless u really want to get that wide..