Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jan 23, 2007, 1:49 PM   #1

Hey guys and gals. I recently purchased a Rebel XT and am trying figure out the best lenses for my needs and within my budget. This is my first dSLR and am enjoying it so far, but I am a little disappointed in the kit lens (I just hope the problem isn't me).

Primarily, I will be shooting landscapes, softball games (during the day), and indoor candids. After reading for days, I think I have decided on the following (budget)lenses:

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro

Would these lenses suit my needs? I am very new to the dSLR world,and hope Iam leaning towards some decent lenses for the money.

Thanks in advance for any assistance/recommendations!!!

:-)

jnew

jnew is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 23, 2007, 3:52 PM   #2

jnew wrote:
Quote:
Primarily, I will be shooting landscapes, softball games (during the day), and indoor candids. After reading for days, I think I have decided on the following (budget)lenses:

Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Sigma 70-300mm F4-5.6 APO DG Macro

Would these lenses suit my needs? I am very new to the dSLR world,and hope Iam leaning towards some decent lenses for the money.

Welcome!

First off, neither of those lenses will help with landscape shots. But landscape shots are typically f11-22 range. Are you still dissatisfied with your kit lens at those apertures? It should perform quite decently

On to your other needs: