Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Feb 7, 2007, 5:46 PM   #1

I just bough a Xti. I love the camera, but i don't think the kit lens is up to par. I'm in the market for a new lens. I will eventually get a nice zoom lens and a portrait lens. What are you suggestions. I'm looking to spend about $200 on a new lens. I'm a college student so it limits my budget. I heard alot about the 50mm 1.8 and thought that would be a good lens to start out w/. Tell me what you guys think. And what other zoom lens would be good (i don't need a $1000 lens at this time).
lilboi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2007, 7:20 PM   #2

If u can extend that budget to say around 270-300 i would recommend the 50mm F1.8 and a sigma 70-300 APO DG Macro lens.

The sigma will also serve as a decent macro not 1:1 though. Its sharp enuff and very light. Decently built. The 50mm is around 70 and the SIgma is around 180-200.

The kit lens is really good for landscapes, even macros. Its a bit slow but other wise it is a great lens.
nymphetamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2007, 8:22 PM   #3

The kit lens is not that bad.

The Sigma 70-300mm APO is a good lens to cover your long range need. I bought the cheaper version non-APO $139 a week ago and quite happy with it. Save some money to buy a flash, get the Sunpak 383, a used one from $30-50 the most, later buy the Canon flash,keep the Sunpak as a backup.

Attached Images

coldshot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 7, 2007, 9:08 PM   #4

the canon 50mm 1.8 is an amazing peice of glass for the money.
I got it and my best shots were made with it.
O.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2007, 12:15 AM   #5

How is the 70-300 that canon makes? How does that compare? Is sigma just another company that makes lenses? What are those numbers that are usually after the zoom length (like f/4-5.6).