Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Feb 21, 2007, 9:31 PM   #11
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,542
Default

When you stack two teleconverters only the 2x will show up in the EXIF!
NHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2007, 9:39 PM   #12
djb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 2,289
Default

NHL, in response to your response in a previous message, I do understand that without taping pins on the TC's I won't be able to autofocus. What I was wondering is why it saw the 2X TC when the 3 pins were taped so that it should fool the camera. I was hoping if it didn't see the 2X TC then it should autofocus. Maybe not well but possibly better than me and manual focus. That's all.

dennis
djb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2007, 11:28 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,105
Default

@NHL

When you stack two teleconverters only the 2x will show up in the EXIF!


THanks, But as u said it shoudnt have auto focussed right??. I didnt tape the pins. I still was at 5.6 and the camera auto focussed. A bit strange??
nymphetamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2007, 6:45 AM   #14
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,542
Default

nymphetamine wrote:
Quote:
THanks, But as u said it shoudnt have auto focussed right??. I didnt tape the pins. I still was at 5.6 and the camera auto focussed. A bit strange??
This combo doesn't AF on the MrkII, but I did notice the MrkII series doesn't do as well in low-light as my 10D - That's good to know that it focuses with the 5D with the 1.4x + 2x combo on the 120-300 f/2.8. Let see how the MrkIII does...
NHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2007, 7:48 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
aladyforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,964
Default

I have had the EF 1X4 for only a couple of days but I can recommend it. I use it on my 70-200 F4 L and it focuses all the way from F5.6 to F16 without a problem.



heres some of my first test shots



http://www.stevesforums.com/forums/v...mp;forum_id=11
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2007, 11:35 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,105
Default

just to confirm..

5D does auto focus with both 1.4x and 2X attached together and the aperture starts at f5.6 for the 120-300 f2.8 lens. And the AF speed is pretty fast. i just tried some moon shots yesterday with the same set up and it worked really well. will post some when i get time to transfer the pictures.
nymphetamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2007, 6:00 AM   #17
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,542
Default

nymphetamine wrote:
Quote:
just to confirm..

5D does auto focus with both 1.4x and 2X attached together and the aperture starts at f5.6 for the 120-300 f2.8 lens. And the AF speed is pretty fast. i just tried some moon shots yesterday with the same set up and it worked really well. will post some when i get time to transfer the pictures.
Yeap - I've been thinking about it...
-> It could be your camera is full frame and the AF info are gathered from the edge of the lens (which is smaller if a camera is cropped):

http://www.a1.nl/phomepag/markerink/af_expla.htm
http://doug.kerr.home.att.net/pumpkin/Split_Prism.pdf
NHL is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2007, 7:00 AM   #18
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 8,529
Default

aladyforty wrote:
Quote:
I have had the EF 1X4 for only a couple of days but I can recommend it. I use it on my 70-200 F4 L and it focuses all the way from F5.6 to F16 without a problem.
Just a point of clarity - a lens ALWAYS uses thewidest availableaperture to focus and closes down to take the photo. So, even though you set the aperture to f16 the camera/lens still focuses at 5.6. You may be aware of this but others reading this may not be
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2007, 7:36 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
D.Ann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 2,932
Default

I didn't know that, thanks, donna
D.Ann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2007, 5:58 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
aladyforty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 6,964
Default

JohnG wrote:
Quote:
aladyforty wrote:
Quote:
I have had the EF 1X4 for only a couple of days but I can recommend it. I use it on my 70-200 F4 L and it focuses all the way from F5.6 to F16 without a problem.
Just a point of clarity - a lens ALWAYS uses thewidest availableaperture to focus and closes down to take the photo. So, even though you set the aperture to f16 the camera/lens still focuses at 5.6. You may be aware of this but others reading this may not be
MMM I may be a fool but I really dont understand that LOL
aladyforty is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:47 AM.