Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Mar 16, 2007, 4:13 PM   #1

I've recently decided on purchasing the XTi and am now faced with the decision of which lens I need to accompany it. My original thought in picking the XTi was that I would be using it for low light concert photography so I will definetly be picking up the Canon 50mm f/1.8 for that. However, as I learn more and more about photography I realize that there is so much more than just concerts and I would like to explore other aspects of photography as well.

On that note, I will be traveling abroad next year and I would like to purchase a lens or two to help me take pictures throughout the year. I plan and taking plenty of urban and ancient city pictures however I am sure I will also take my fair share of landscape pictures. With that said, what will I need for that? I am still learning quite a bit about cameras but I am still not so sure about which lens I can use for what.

So my questions are, what can I use the 50mm f/1.8 for? The other lens I'm looking at is the Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6. Is a zoom telephoto a must for what I'm looking to do? And lastly, would it be a good idea to pick up the camera with the 18-55 mm kit lens or maybe the Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8-4.0? Or will I just need the Prime and the Zoom or any other combination?

Sorry for all the rambling but I would appreciate any help or clarification I can get. Thanks.
fLthMsc is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 16, 2007, 5:03 PM   #2

I found that for me a 50mm wasn't always enough for concerts, as I sometimes got very close to the stage, so in addition I've gotten a 2.8 Tamron 28-75mm. It's wide enough to get decent shots even when you're right up front, and if you're not you can zoom a bit. Of course, the 50mm 1.8 is preferable if the focal length works for where you're standing!
I seem to be taking good photos even if it's only F2.8.