Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 21, 2007, 1:48 PM   #1

Hello!

First of all, sorry for the newbie questions that you folks probably answer all the time!

I am new to the digital SLR arena and have been using P&S cameras.... My last SLR was an old manual Nikon. All my old equipment has been sold.

I have decided to purchase a DSLR and have pretty well decided on the black XTi.

My question is about a beginning lens.... I decided on the Canon XTi so I could have a system that I can build on in the future, and with their being such a vast array of lenses for Canon out there, I am almost certain my purchase will be the XTi. I shoot a lot of pictures with a homemade light box - mainly watches. So first and formost I need a lense that will yield good results of my watches in the lightbox.

Before anything else, I need a lense to shoot the watches.... Will the 18-55mm get me good results and detail of my watches in the box? I use a tripod, and no flash. I have a light set-up. I considered getting the body/kit lense and also adding the 50mm 1.8 - Just wondering if I can get good results with either of these lenses? I'm not doing this as a pro, just something I like shooting, and I also sell some items from these pics. I need something that will do a good job, but I am moreless a hobbiest; not shooting for contests, magazines, or catalogs...

I also considered just buying the body and adding the EF-S 60mm f/2.8 USM Macro instead of getting the kit lens and the 50mm 1.8 - Perhaps this lenswould suit me better?

I also take a lot of the usual family pics.... Family events, holidays, kids activities, etc. I fully plan to add lenses in the future for these type photos, but like I said, I wanna get the watch thing covered first, and I will add later. Although if the kit lense and 50mm 1.8 will do well for the watches, I would have two descent lens that would do both jobs fairly well???