Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 23, 2007, 12:57 AM   #1

I am number 1 one on the list for the MKIII at my local camera shop. I sold off all my Nikon equipment so I could get this camera. My only problem is that I don't know Canon lenses. I know I will be getting the 100-400mm IS USM lens but I need to know what other lenses to get for portrait, landscape and a general all purpose walk around lens. Also, does Canon have an equivelant lens to Nikons 18-200 VR lens (that was my favorite)?

Like I said I am new to Canon and I really need help with lenses. I want to get the best I can for this camera.

Tony
Tonyv49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 23, 2007, 1:38 AM   #2
Super Moderator

Well there are a couple of obvious candidates..

The new 16-35L f2.8 Mk II will give a 35mm equivalent of 21-46mm, which should take care of your wide-angle needs.

The 24-105 IS f4 L is a nice walkaround, and covers 31-136mm equivalent.

The premier portrait lens is the 85mm f1.2 L, but you could equally use the 85mm f1.8 at a fraction of the price, or even one of the medium telephoto Macro lenses. The Canon 100mm f2.8 or Sigma 150mm f2.8 are both excellent.

Photozone.de and slrgear.com (my new favourite) both have lens tests for these lenses.

peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2007, 1:49 AM   #3

the 85 L is stunning.. the below image is from the camera with AWB adjusted. Taken in a Thai Restaurant in a very dim light at iso800 on a 5D.

The 5D and teh 85L is lethal )))) i love it...

there is no noise reduction or sharpening..straight from the camera with some AWB adjustment

Attached Images

nymphetamine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2007, 1:53 AM   #4

one more from the same set up....AWB adjustment..The sharpness is from the camera....and i shoot raw...)))

Get the 85L its an awesome lens...
Attached Images

Old Apr 23, 2007, 6:54 AM   #5

Tony,