Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Jul 24, 2007, 11:26 PM   #1

Hey Everyone,

This is my first post here, and I must admit I am a bit of a newbie to the world of DSLR's. I just recently upgraded to a canon rebel xt (I got it for a steal on craiglist) from a canon powershot pro1. I have to say, I am hooked!

I just recently purchased a Canon EF 28-105 3.5-4.5 USM on ebay as a second lens to the standard wide angle ef-s 28-55mm kit lens, and I am now searching for my next lens purchase - a telephoto.

I've done a bit of homework and concluded a few things: 1.) Stick with canon, they are guranteed to work and tend to have an edge over 3rd party manufacturers like Sigma and Tamron. 2.)Take careful consideration into whether or not you want Image Stability 3.) Try and get a lens that has a low f/stop... especially for a telephoto lens.

I am a college student and so I am looking for a telephoto that is meant for begginers and amatures. I am not interested in purchasing 1,000 to 6,500 dollar lens. I have therefore set my sights on the following two lenses:

<a href="http://www.amazon.com/Canon-70-300mm-4-5-6-Lens-Cameras/dp/B0007Y794O/ref=pd_bbs_1/002-1613268-6339239?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=11853362 19&sr=8-1">Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM</a>

and

<a href="http://www.amazon.com/Canon-70-200mm-Telephoto-Zoom-Cameras/dp/B000053HH5/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/002-1613268-6339239?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=11853365 52&sr=1-1">Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM</a>

I am not going to be purchasing these quite yet. I want to enjoy my new lens as well as save money for these. I am hoping to pick them up AFTER christmas, when prices start to drop after the holidays. I know they are both good lenses, but I am not sure what the pros and cons are to either one and the reviews that I read on BHphoto and Amazon all have their biases.