Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 21, 2007, 3:03 PM   #1

Hello all,

I am a newbie from the point and shoot world.... i got great deal on a Rebel XT... here is my dliemma...

I know that I will probably buy more lenses later, but I dont want to limit myself early.... I am shooting family vacations (Disneyland, Monterey, etc) and my two daughters in competitive cheerleading...... in the cheerleading, they my be indoors and rarely outdoors....yesterday I borrowed a Quantaray 75-300 lens and used my kit lens (18-55).. I am trying to get some group shots and some "closer" shots of my daughters individually

I had to switch from the kit lens for group shots and the Quantaray for individual shots....this is a 2 1/2 minute routine so I am trying to find something that will serve well... also, sometimes we can be closer to the routing and sometimes further...

I got good shots individually yesterday but I couldnt get wide enough for group type shots... SO

I am going to buy the 430EX speedlite then I need lens ..I am between

Tamron 18-250mm F/3.5-6.3 AF Di-II LD Aspherical (IF) Macro Lens

Sigma AF 18-200mm f/3.5-6.3 DC OS (Optical Stabilizer) Zoom Lens

Canon EF 28-135mm f/3.5-5.6 IS USM Standard Zoom

Canon EF 70-200mm f/4L USM Telephoto Zoom Lens

Yes, I know that there is a pretty wide range there...the 70-200 might be to high a number as the 70 might not be able to get wide enough shots... I also had a freind with a wide angle adapter out on the end of his lens..cant find much out about those....

any good input as I am trying to buy this today or tomorrow for our disneyland trip? thanks in advance...
ubaisore is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 22, 2007, 9:21 PM   #2

ubaisore wrote:
Quote:
Hello all,

I am a newbie from the point and shoot world.... i got great deal on a Rebel XT... here is my dliemma...