Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Apr 4, 2008, 7:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 129
Default

Does anyone know if the Sigma Mirror Telephoto 600mm F8 lens will work with a Sigma 2x APO tele converter? I doesn't seem like Sigma lists the lens on thier website
ahill876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 4, 2008, 9:40 PM   #2
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,547
Default

Does it matter?
-> That lens is strictly manual
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 12:13 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 129
Default

The reason I asked is that I have tried the setup but my Rebel xti comes up with an error saying "Communications between the camera and lens is faulty. Clean the lens contacts"
the contacts all look good so I wanted to know if everything is compatible
ahill876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 3:04 AM   #4
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,547
Default

Actually you could 'tape' all the contacts:
1. A mirror lens is a manual only focus lens (except for the Minolta/Sony)
2. There is no aperture

-> So really there's not much communication going on between the lens and the camera...
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 5:40 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 129
Default

so I would need to tape the contacts between the converter and the camera its self so that it doesn't think that there is a lens to try and use af with. There's no sub menu in the xti that I could tell it to ignore the converter?
ahill876 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2008, 9:36 AM   #6
NHL
Senior Member
 
NHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: 39.18776, -77.311353333333
Posts: 11,547
Default

There's no AF with a mirror lens on a Canon

Basically you can shoot with the camera just like with no lens is mounted. You can use the Av mode although with a 2x you'll be @ f/16 so it'll be quite a shore to focus manually... At f/8 without the teleconverter may be
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:43 PM.