Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Apr 15, 2008, 6:35 AM   #1

Hye there fellow forumers..

I tried searching about his lens but couldn't find a topic on it.

I'm considering getting this lens in the very near future.

Does anyone have any comments / complains about this lens?

I normally shoot casual / hobby shot with occasional indoor company / club dinner events or weddings once in a few "blue moons" (actually meaning very few..hehe) and need a lens of this range and 2.8 to cover speeches..stage.. or just anything from a distance and in low light hall conditions.

As I'm not a pro and very seldom do shooting jobs, I really cannot justify paying the premium for the Canon 70-200 F2.8 IS or the non IS version and the F4 IS / Non IS version is not really enough for lowlight.

So would just like to know the performance of this lens in the field before making my purchase. Tried to google for reviews they are too few to help.

Advice from the kind people here would be greatly appreciated.
hazmy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 15, 2008, 8:35 AM   #2

One point - it is DG, not DC so that might explain some problems with finding reviews.

Here is what I know about the lens:

I owned an older version (no DG, no MACRO) and it was a great lens - about 90% of what the Canon 70-200 2.8 was. The difference being the canon was sharper at 200mm and the canon is faster to focus in low light.

Another member here, NHL, also has the same lens and has had very good results.

Having said that though, since Sigma introduced the 'macro' version there seem to be more complaints about the lens. Now, that could be simply because more people are using it as the DSLR market has exploded. But, Sigma has announced a mk II of the lens - only a couple years after introducing the first macro version. That, to me, would indicate there were some issues that needed to be resolved.