Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old May 27, 2008, 9:18 AM   #1

I can get this lense for reasonably cheap. Is it any good?
Of course this will not be a high quality lens, but is there anything I should be aware of?

It has a 1:2 macro, what does that mean?

Is the 1.7 magnification applicable on this lens, in other words, will it have a 510mm effective magnification?

Anything else at the same price point I should be aware of?

I only got my first DSLR only yesterday, so I am still a bit new to all this.
Carrots is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 28, 2008, 2:23 AM   #2
Super Moderator

It's OK. Not great, but pretty good value.

http://www.slrgear.com/reviews/showp...uct/455/cat/23

As you are new to the DSLR world I think it's not a bad place to start. Also you are in SA, so you have plenty of light, so the relatively slow apertures are not going to be much of a problem.

Try to stop it down to f8 or f11 if you can, even if that means bumping your ISO up a bit. From the blur chart above it looks pretty good at f8/11 from 70-200mm and respectable out to 300. I wouldn't want to use it at less than f8 at 300.

In fact if I got that lens (which I might because I don't do telephoto much) then I would set it to aperture priority at f8 or f11 and adjust ISO and shutter speed. For shutter speed remember the rule of thumb that you want 1/equivalent focal length.

So at 300*1.6=480mm - you want a shutter speed of around 1/500s.

At 70*1.6=112mm you want around 1/125s.

Adjust your ISO to keep your shutter speeds in the right range. But in daylight in SA you should be able to get f8 and 1/500 without pushing your ISO beyond 400, in fact you will often be around ISO100.

Good (gun) shooting technique applies to using telephoto lenses too. Hold your breath, steady, etc.
peripatetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2008, 3:51 AM   #3