Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digital SLR and Interchangeable Lens Cameras > Canon Lenses

Old Oct 6, 2003, 5:53 AM   #1

Default Canon Lenses (for D.Rebel) vs. F717

I own a Sony Cybershot F707 right now (I've had it for a little more than a year now and have really enjoyed it) but I'm really interested in upgrading to the F717 (especially after using it for a weekend). However, with the Canon Digital Rebel on the market now, I'm starting to think it's time for me to get into the dSLR realm. I don't have a huge budget and one of my concerns is the quality of the optics of Canon's cheap EF lenses. Now, I'm an enthusiast photographer, not a pro photographer so I'm not sure I need to spend a lot of money on a really expensive lens right now (especially because of my tight budget).

If I got the Digital Rebel I was considering getting either the starter kit with the EF-S 18-55mm lens and then getting a EF 55-200mm f/4.5-5.6 USM II lens to go with it (giving me a total of ~11x optical zoom, which is awesome). That'd bring me up to $1,209.90 (on B&H anyway). However, they also have a little more versatile EF 28-200mm f/3.5-5.6 lens for $359.95, and I'm thinking I could skip the 18-55mm starter lens and get a wide-angle lens to cover my sub-44.8mm stuff later on (my F707 has a 38-190mm lens and thus far I've really only been wanting more telephoto, most of the time). With that lens instead, I'd be at $1,258.95 and have less need for swapping lenses, which is good in the racing photography I mostly do.

So will these inexpensive lenses be as good as (or better than?) the F707/F717's Carl Zeiss 38-190mm lens? If not, what would? And will the autofocus speeds be adversely affected by any of the above lenses (racing photography, after all, needs speed).

Thanks!
RobertMcDonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 7, 2003, 4:04 AM   #2